Where To Eat…Amsterdam

img_2655

 

WARNING — do not read this post while hungry. Seriously, as I mentioned before the restaurants and overall food in Amsterdam was so good that I felt it needed a separate post. I was fortunate enough to have a few friends who had visited before so I already had the inside scoop of some of the best places that weren’t just another tourist joint. It’s always hard to search for the “local favorites” when traveling to somewhere that is known for tourism. Not to mention that by the time you’re done exploring the city and, you’re starving and end of going somewhere nearby…which ends up being nothing more than an overpriced tourist destination.

Well…break that habit now. Take the journey and get out there and eat at places that are local and unique, like my favorites below!

I hope you guys like these “travel digest” type posts. I’d like to do some more even though a few of these countries I went to about a year ago and then it’ll all be current from there but it’s fun for me to think about my favorite things that I did and can’t wait to do/eat again. Let me know where you’d like to see next in the comments below!

For Breakfast

De Vier Pilaren

amsterdam-50

img_9363

93435866eb0302495f5f7fcc5adbc7a5

Okay so maybe this wouldn’t be the healthiest option but you’re probably on vacation so indulge for one day! . This restaurant is literally a boat that floats on the river, how cool is that? And then the food..oh the food..Amsterdam has these beautiful things called Poffertjes which are literally mini pancakes about the size of a 2 euro coin. They are pure sugar and dough but hands down the best thing you might have ever tasted. They also have traditional pancakes that you can make either sweet or savory based on the time of day or your mood.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 4.15.56 PM

For Lunch

Broodje Bert 

IMG_5825

broodje-bert004

This little sandwich shop was recommended by a friend who had visited Amsterdam before and he heard about it from locals. Sure enough when we walked in owners of the shop were almost confused by the fact that we were there despite not being from Amsterdam. I ordered and it was THE BEST sandwich I had in a long time, not to mention it was relatively cheap because it wasn’t a tourist trap. See the connection there?

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 4.12.22 PM

For A Snack

Old Amsterdam Cheese Store

slide01

10951104_10205688793955597_5608349679258374807_n

Probably a personal highlight of my trip was the moment I realized that Holland was known for their cheese. I’m not talking about a thin slice of cheese from the grocery store — I’m talking an entire wheel of cheese. They had personal sized wheels, party sized wheels, family sized wheels, you name it. Do yourself a favor and just buy a wheel of cheese for both amazing taste but also because how many times do you go out and buy a wheel of cheese..?

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 4.15.29 PM

For Dessert 

Ice Bakery by Nutella in Amsterdam

16124836126_08db327e87_z

o-3

Okay so I had a lot of different desserts throughout my time there but this “Nutella topped anything” was such a big concept in Amsterdam I was actually blown away by how many locals walk around with their Nutella topped waffle. Like you’d think they were walking around with an ice cream cone it’s such a natural dessert there. Around the shops there were literally mobs of local teenagers just hanging out eating their Nutella topped cookies, muffins, pretzels, chicken..literally whatever.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 4.13.07 PM

And here’s my favorite picture from the trip involving food, look closely you’ll notice it.

1907475_10205688834356607_5889689826438397501_n.jpg

